Skip to: site menu | section menu | main content

Currently viewing:

Moving On Up

The top* player/team in each group should register for the next higher group the following year. This may be waived for small groups at the discretion of the Group Coordinator. Players/teams that move up may go back to the lower level after one year. 

Wrong Group

If you find yourself in the wrong ability group, please notify your Coordinator so you can be moved to a group better suited to your skills. This will ensure that everyone can enjoy their tennis as much as possible. 

* The top player or team in a group will often be that group's tournament winner, but not necessarily.  Group Coordinators will make the determinations based on the entire season record.



 Federal Employees Tennis Association


Players can get more enjoyment from the sport of tennis by playing others with similar skills. FETA singles players are grouped into rating levels 4.0, 3.5, 3.0, and 2.5. These levels are based on the National Tennis Rating Program. 

Below are descriptions of the rating levels. The level you choose need not be permanent, and should be adjusted as your skills change or as your match play demonstrates the need for reclassification. Ultimately, your rating is based on your match results.  

At the beginning of each season, members should evaluate their skills to determine whether they are more suited to a different group.

  LEVEL: 2.5

You are learning to judge where the ball is going and how to position the racquet. You can sustain a short rally of slow pace. Besides playing matches, the 2.5 group has additional ways to earn match credit (see "Rules for 2.5 and 3.0" on the "Rules" tab).  

LEVEL: 3.0

You can be fairly consistent when hitting medium-paced shots, but are not consistent when trying for directional control, depth, or power. Besides playing matches, the 3.0 group has additional ways to earn match credit (see "Rules for 2.5 and 3.0" on the "Rules" tab).

LEVEL: 3.5

You have dependable strokes with directional control on moderate shots. You try to take control of points. You anticipate your opponents play. You lack stroke variety and consistent depth. Your serve is mostly dependable but rarely wins points.  

LEVEL: 4.0 

You have dependable strokes, including directional control and depth on both forehand and backhand sides on moderate-paced shots. You regularly use lobs, overheads, approach shots, and volleys. You sometimes force errors when serving.

   LEVEL: 4.5

You have developed your use of power and spin and can handle pace. You have sound footwork, can control depth of shots, and attempt to vary game plan according to your opponents. You can hit first serves with power and accuracy and place the second serve. Level 4.5 players are welcome in the 4.0 group as FETA does not currently have a separate 4.5 group.


FETA's rankings for doubles are labeled A, B, and C, with A being the most advanced. Typically, A will have 4.0 and 3.5 players, B will have mostly 3.5  players, and C will have mostly 3.0 and 2.5 players.